Ten years ago, in 2008, it was Queenstown’s Scott Columb (Suzuki) who won the day in the MX1 class at round three of the motocross nationals. Photo by Andy McGechan,

It was supposed to be round three of the 2018 New Zealand Motocross Championships in Hawke’s Bay this weekend (now cancelled at the last minute due to road flooding), but, in’s occasional “Weekend Wind-back” feature, we still decided to go ahead and turn the clock back 10 years to have a look at what went on that corresponding day in 2008.

Here we go … back in 2008, the third round of the motocross nationals were staged later in the year, in December, and the four-round series wrapped up that year in New Plymouth on December 14.

We hope you’ll enjoy this snapshot from our news archives.

Send us your feedback on our FACEBOOK page.

Anyway, let’s climb in the time machine and head back to 2008, round three of the nationals that year being staged near Timaru …


As the dust cleared at Pleasant Point, near Timaru, on Sunday afternoon, a fresh face had appeared at the top of the MX1 standings

Tauranga’s Peter Broxholme (Honda), who took over the lead in the MX1 class at round three of the MX nationals in 2008. Photo by Andy McGechan,

Racing conditions were almost impossible at the weekend’s third round of four in the Demon Energy New Zealand Motocross Championships, with thick dust hanging in the air and ruining visibility for riders and spectators alike, but there were still smiles in the Honda camp.

Queenstown’s Scotty Columb (Suzuki) won what turned out to be Sunday’s sole MX1 (open class) race but a runner-up finish was enough for Tauranga Honda rider Peter Broxholme to snatch the series lead.

The 26-year-old Broxholme had been threatening all season long to burst past early series leader Damien King, of Cambridge, and everything fell into place for Broxholme at Timaru.

With dust cloaking the circuit and making conditions both difficult and treacherous, organisers decided to cut the day short and just one race was run for each of the bike categories, but that turned out to be all that Broxholme needed.

Queenstown’s Scott Columb (left) leads defending national MX1 champion Daryl Hurley during the 2008 nationals. Photo by Andy McGechan,

Two points adrift of Yamaha’s King as the day dawned, the Bay of Plenty rider is now four in front with just the fourth and final round in Taranaki next weekend to wrap up the championship.

“I always believed it would come down to the final round to decide this title,” said Broxholme afterwards. “It was a pretty intense weekend and the conditions were horrible. I just need to keep it all together next weekend in Taranaki.”

Columb’s win moves him closer to the MX1 class lead but, thanks to his suffering a disastrous series opener near Rotorua in October, he is still third overall and 10 points behind Broxholme.

King had better luck in the championships’ smallest bike class and a successful 125cc title defence seems increasing likely as he finished runner-up to Christchurch’s Hayden McKay (Honda) in Sunday’s race and padded his series lead out to 20 points over Taupo’s Cameron Dillon (Honda).

Dillon continues to lead the race-within-a-race for under-21 rider honours.

Meanwhile, in the MX2 (250cc) class, Rotorua’s Michael Phillips took his Honda to victory in the sole race for that class, extending his championship lead to 16 points over Hawera’s Daryl Hurley (Suzuki).

Christchurch rider Hayden McKay (Honda) won the sole 125cc class race of the day at round three of the motocross nationals in 2008. Photo by Andy McGechan,

King’s elder brother Darryll King (Yamaha) won the day’s only MX2 race but, because he skipped round two of the series in Hawke’s Bay last month, he is effectively out of contention for the title win.

The abbreviated weekend in Timaru may mean a bonus for race fans at Taranaki next weekend with talk now that the abandoned races may be squeezed into the weekend’s programme at New Plymouth’s Barrett Road circuit.

© Words and photos by Andy McGechan,

Find on FACEBOOK here


LEADING RESULTS (from 2008):

Leading standings after round three of the 2008 Demon Energy New Zealand Motocross Championships near Timaru:

LEADING RESULTS (from 2008):

Leading standings after round three of the 2008 Demon Energy New Zealand Motocross Championships near Timaru:

MX1 (open) class:

1. Scott Columb (Queenstown, Suzuki); 2. Peter Broxholme (Tauranga, Honda); 3. Darryll King (Hamilton, Yamaha); 4. Blake Gillard (Auckland, Honda); 5. Damien King (Cambridge, Yamaha); 6. Nick Saunders (Taupo, Kawasaki).

Championship standings: 1. Broxholme 109 points; 2. Damien King 105; 3. Columb 95.

MX2 (250cc) class:

1. Darryll King (Hamilton, Yamaha); 2. Michael Phillips (Rotorua, Honda); 3. Justin McDonald (Christchurch, Honda); 4. Hayden Clark (Otorohanga, Honda); 5. Brad Groombridge (Taupo, Kawasaki); 6. Daryl Hurley (Hawera, Suzuki).

Championship standings: 1. Phillips 117 points; 2. Hurley 101; McDonald 85.

125cc two-stroke and under-21 class:

1. Hayden McKay (Christchurch, Honda); 2. Damien King (Cambridge, Yamaha); 3. Ethan Martens (Waitakere, KTM); 4. Scott Barr-Smith (Tauranga, KTM); 5. Cameron Dillon (Taupo) Honda; 6. Cameron Negus (Rotorua, Yamaha).

Championship standings: 1. King 122 points; 2. Dillon 102; 3. Martens 83.




Comments are closed.