Kiwi riders will again hope to feature when the Australian MX Nationals head to the Horsham Region in Western Victoria for the fourth instalment of the series this weekend.

With 2017 marking the third consecutive year that Australia’s biggest motorcycling championship has visited the venue, the region is again gearing up for the series’ arrival, with local businesses, accommodation venues and more all set to reap financial rewards with the town flooding with racers, families, fans and teams alike.

Takaka’s New Zealand MX2 champion Hamish Harwood and Ngatea’s former New Zealand 125cc champion Ben Broad will each be hoping they can continue to push to top honours in their respective MX1 and Under-19 Development classes on Sunday.

Harwood is currently ranked sixth in the MX2 class and Broad is sitting at seventh overall in the MXD class.

The Horsham Rural City Council and the Wimmera Region have a jam packed motorcycling calendar over the next 12 months, and recognises the MX Nationals as one of the town’s major events.

Mayor Pam Clarke said Horsham was looking forward to welcoming back the motocross nationals.

“The National Motocross Championship is a major event for Horsham and we are gearing up for the series’ arrival next weekend, with local businesses and accommodation venues set to reap financial rewards. We’re excited to welcome participants, officials, supporters and spectators to Horsham for the event and hope they’ll take the opportunity to enjoy everything the region has to offer during their stay” she said.

With Horsham being well-known as a ‘hub’ for motorcycling enthusiasts, Motul MX Nationals series promoter Kevin Williams shared that the visit to Western Victoria remains as one of the most important on the calendar.

“Horsham Motorcycle Club is one of the most forward thinking clubs out there, and it’s a pleasure to have theirs and the council’s support of the series for 2017,” he said.

“The region is well known for its support for motorcycling. In September and October the region will host the Australian Junior Motocross Championship and 2018 they will host the FIM World Junior Motocross Championships.”

© Photo by Andy McGechan,

Find on FACEBOOK here



Thor MX1 Championship Standings

1) Dean Ferris – 216 points

2) Kirk Gibbs – 185 points

3) Kade Mosig – 170 points

4) Todd Waters – 166 points

5) Luke Styke – 157 points

6) Nathan Crawford – 149 points

7) Luke Clout – 141 points

8) Kyle Peters – 134 points

9) Aleksandr Tonkov – 126 points

10) Brett Metcalfe – 109 points


Motul MX2 Championship Standings

1) Mitchell Evans – 196 points

2) Wilson Todd – 187 points

3) Jackson Richardson – 178 points

4) Egan Mastin – 171 points

5) Kyle Webster – 150 points

6) Hamish Harwood (New Zealand) – 149 points

7) Jayden Rykers – 145 points

8) Dylan Wills – 137 points

9) Richie Evans – 136 points

10) Aaron Tanti – 136 points


Pirelli MX Development Championship Standings

1) Cody Dyce – 186 points

2) Jy Roberts – 165 points

3) Morgan Fogarty – 164 points

4) Isaac Ferguson – 150 points

5) Cooper Pozniak – 146 points

6) Kaleb Barham – 146 points

7) Benjamin Broad (New Zealand) – 135 points

8) Jai Constantinou – 125 points

9) Hugh McKay – 123 points

10) Brodie Ellis – 112 points


© Photo by Andy McGechan,

Find on FACEBOOK here



Comments are closed.